THE PROCESS OF CREATING FRAGRANCES DEMANDS A NUMBER OF CRUCIAL STEPS…

First, learning about the raw materials. Just like a musician who practices everyday, I smelled and smelled again raw materials (essences) for many years. One, two or even 10 per day. At different times of the day, sometimes pure, sometimes diluted, in order to grasp all the nuances, subtleties, to make a note all the sensations, impressions, images, colours… that I perceived.

Thanks to the way I fed my memory with these scents, I was later able to work on combinations. And like a musician must never stop playing, because nothing is ever really acquired or mastered, I continue, year after year, to practice, smell, feel, grasp, and understand materials.

Rom_4942b
pellami e cuoio
MDFragrances-Seve
full frame background showing lots of sharp metallic nail tips

THE IMPORTANCE OF MATERIALS

Raw materials are an essential starting point in the formulation process. They sometimes rasp like wild silk or they are as soft as velvet, cold or hot, bright blue or bright red, they are the basis for this multi-sensory experience that is a perfume.

I want to be able to “touch” and “see”. A perfume must “take shape”, come to life.

Le processus de création en parfumerie relève pour moi de plusieurs étapes…

Tout d’abord, l’apprentissage des matières premières. Comme un musicien fait ses gammes, j’ai senti, ressenti, les matières premières pendant plusieurs années. Une, deux… 10 par jours. À différents moments de la journée, pures, diluées, pour en saisir toutes les nuances, les subtilités, noter toutes les évocations, sensations, impressions, images, couleurs… auxquelles elles me renvoyaient.

C’est grâce à cette mémoire que j’ai nourrie, que j’ai pu ensuite travailler les accords. Et comme un musicien ne doit jamais s’arrêter, car rien n’est jamais acquis, il faut continuer, années après années, à faire ses gammes, sentir, noter, s’ouvrir aux matières.

Rom_4942b
pellami e cuoio
MDFragrances-Seve
full frame background showing lots of sharp metallic nail tips

L’IMPORTANCE DE LA MATIÈRE

Les matières premières sont un point de départ essentiel dans mon processus de formulation. Qu’elles soient crissantes comme de la soie sauvage ou douces comme du velours, froides ou chaudes, bleu éclatant ou rouge flamboyant, elles sont la base de cette expérience multi-sensorielle qu’est le parfum.

Je veux pouvoir le “toucher”, le “voir”, il doit prendre forme, prendre vie.